The first meeting of the forum was held on December 21, 2013 (Saturday) during 2:30 – 6:00 PM in the committee room of main building of IIT Roorkee. Professor Shamsher Prakash co-chaired this meeting which was attended by following members of the forum.

  1. Prof. S.P. Gupta, Deputy Director, IIT Roorkee, Chair
  2. Prof. Shamsher Prakash, MUST, USA, Working Chair
  3. Prof. H.R. Wason, President ISET, Vice-Chair
  4. Prof. Gopal Ranjan, Director General, COER Roorkee
  5. Prof. D.K. Paul, Emeritus Fellow, IIT Roorkee
  6. Dr. T.N. Gupta, Former Executive Director, BMTPC
  7. Prof. Mani Kant Gupta, Ex-Professor, IIT Roorkee
  8. Prof. V.K. Puri, SIU, Carbondale, USA
  9. Prof. T.G. Sitharam, IISc Bangalore
  10. Dr. Amir M. Kaynia, NGI, Oslo, Norway
  11. Prof. M. Parida, IIT Roorkee
  12. Prof. Deepankar Choudhury, IIT Bombay
  13. Dr. Amit Prashant, IIT Gandhinagar
  14. Dr. Manish Gupta, CSMRS, New Delhi
  15. Dr. N.P. Honkandavar, CSMRS, New Delhi
  16. Dr. R.S. Jakka, IIT Roorkee
  17. Mrs. Shalini Prakash, MUST, USA
  18. Dr. B.K. Maheshwari, IIT Roorkee, Secretary General

The meeting could not be attended by following invited members of the forum.

  1. Prof. Pradipta Banerji, Director, IIT Roorkee
  2. Prof. M.L. Sharma, Head, DEQ, IIT Roorkee
  3. Prof. Ikuo Towhata, University of Tokyo
  4. Prof. M.N. Viladakar, IIT Roorkee
  5. Prof. G.V. Ramana, IIT Delhi

Following are the minutes of deliberations:

  1. Dr SP Gupta Deputy Director, IIT Roorkee chaired the meeting and welcomed the members to the first meeting of the forum. He hoped that the forum will make seminal contributions to the development of soil dynamics in India, through international conferences on soil dynamics and short courses on soil dynamics, and other similar activities. At the conclusion, he suggested that Prof. Shamsher Prakash be invited to be Hon. Distinguished Co-Chair for the international conference detailed below.
  2. During the meeting, presentations were made by following members on titles as mentioned:
    1. Shamsher Prakash – Forum for Promotion of Soil Dynamics in India
    2. H.R. Wason – Impact of Parameter Uncertainty in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering
    3. D.K. Paul – Computational Modeling in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering
    4. T.N. Gupta – Natural Hazard Preparedness and Mitigation in India
    5. V.K. Puri – Issues related to Promotion of Soil Dynamics in India
    6. Amir Kaynia – Cooperation between NGI and IIT Roorkee
    7. Deepankar Choudhury – Soil Dynamics Forum in India: Future Path and Suggestion from Various Members
    8. Amit Prashant –
      1. Short Courses – 2014-16
      2. Vision 2014-19 Soil Dynamics in India
    9. B.K. Maheshwari –
      1. Personnel in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering in India
      2. Research Cooperation between NGI and IIT Roorkee
    10. Gopal Ranjan – Technical Activities of Dr. Ranjan related to Soil Dynamics(The presentation was received after the meeting)
  3. The following major decisions were taken during this meeting:
    1. To host “the 6th International Conference on Recent Advances in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering and Soil Dynamics” in Delhi NCR Region during December 2015. The conference will be preceded by a 2 days short term course on Soil Dynamics. It was decided that the conference will be organized by Indian Society of Earthquake Technology (ISET) in collaboration with Dept. of Earthquake Engineering, IIT Roorkee. Following officers were identified for the conference.
      1. Patron: Prof. Pradipta Banerji
      2. Hon. Chairman: Prof. Shamsher Prakash
      3. Chairman: Prof. H.R. Wason
      4. Co-Chairman: Prof. M.L. Sharma
      5. Org. Secretaries: Dr. G. V. Ramana and Er. Ajay Chaurasia

      In this concern Prof. Wason made 2 presentations

      1. About activities of ISET
      2. Details about this conference

      In this concern, Prof. S.P. Gupta mentioned that the possibility of organizing conference/ short term courses at Greater Noida Extension Centre of IIT Roorkee may please be kept in mind.

    2. Short Courses: Detail about short courses was presented by Dr. Amit Prashant. In this concern, Prof. Deepankar Choudhury also mentioned about two NPTEL Video Courses on “Soil Dynamics” and “Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering”, which are freely available worldwide in Youtube with following weblinks:
      1. Soil Dynamics:
      2. Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering:
    3. Prof. Gopal Ranjan mentioned about his contributions and technical activities related to Soil Dynamics, details are given in the enclosed file.
    4. Prof. Manikant Gupta mentioned that some more basic courses should be added in curriculum for M.E (Soil Dynamics).
    5. Dr. Manish Gupta agreed to collect information on Soil Dynamics Equipments In India.
    6. In general all members present in meeting committed to support the activities of the forum.
    7. The following officers of the forum were identified:
      1. Chair: Prof. Pradipta Banerji
      2. Working Chair: Shamsher Prakash
      3. Coordinator/Vice Chair 1: H.R. Wason
      4. Coordinator/Vice Chair 2: M.L. Sharma
      5. Secretary General: B.K. Maheshwari

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair Prof. S.P. Gupta.